Wellness

How To Be A Morning Person (Even When You Hate Mornings)

Hello, my lovely readers!

Waking up early used to be my ultimate goal. I knew that if I could figure out how to be a morning person, I’d have more time in my day, I’d be more productive, and I’d finally be a “real” adult.

I’m a night owl, you see, and for a night owl to wake-up at 6:45 am on a daily basis is torture! I tried for years to figure out how to become a morning person and finally get that worm everyone is talking about! I couldn’t find any advice that worked for someone like me – I just couldn’t fall sleep at 10:30 PM. I would lie awake until at least midnight, contemplating why I can’t get my shit together. Now, I’m not 100% perfect and I do, on occasion, stay up too late and end up sleeping in a little. But I have made it so much easier for myself to be a morning person with some tricks. So, I thought I’d share what the ideas were that worked for me. Let’s go!

Say no to staying up too late. Okay, so, I’ve always been very productive at night when the house is quiet, and that was always my best excuse. Just, say no. If you aren’t someone who can get to bed early and fall asleep, try my method (because it took me months to figure this out):

  1. Turn off your TV, phone, and computer 30 minutes before bed. I suggest doing bed time yoga, reading, or taking a relaxing bath.
  2. Listen to guided sleep meditations. There are so many on YouTube, and I have found them to be extremely useful tools. I suggest finding your desired guided meditation ahead of time and simply pressing play as you settle in since you are on a tech-ban until morning
  3. Diffuse some essential oil blends in the bedroom. I suggest either lavender, Roman chamomile, or cedarwood. You can also purchase special blends of oils for sleep.
  4. Turn off your brain. Lay in bed and close your eyes. Anytime a nagging thought enters your head, immediately shift your attention to something tangible – focus on your breathing, how the bed sheets feel, how the pillow feels, the scent of the aroma therapy diffuser, the voice of the guided sleep meditation.

Give yourself something to look forward to in the morning. For me, that was one of the biggest changes which helped me wake up early (and enjoy it). I always look forward to that first cup of tea in the morning, journaling, and my breakfast. I didn’t necessarily come up with something new and unique to look forward to, but I did learn to appreciate the moments that I enjoyed about waking up. I suggest you do the same – find something in your morning routine that you look forward to upon waking up. If you aren’t satisfied with your morning routine, change it!

Set your alarm clock 30 minutes earlier every time you reach your desired wake-up goal. Let’s say your overall goal is to wake up at 7 am on a daily basis. If you normally wake up at 9 am, start by putting your alarm clock to 8:30 am. Keep this up for 5-7 days. Once you manage to consistently get out of bed at 8:30 am, set the clock back to 8 am. Repeat the processes until you train yourself to wake up at 7 am. Most of us have jobs that require us to come in between 8 am and 9 am daily. However, some of us are either in college or work afternoon shifts, part-time, or work for ourselves. So, this trick will help those of us with irregular working schedules.

Don’t hit snooze. Unless it’s a Saturday or Sunday and you planned to sleep in, don’t hit snooze. Give yourself a pep-talk and get up. I know for a fact that hitting snooze is only prolonging the suffering. Just get up and climb into the shower! When the fall and winter months come it’s dark and cold outside and that makes it very hard to get out of our warm beds so early. Still, don’t hit snooze.

Turn the room temperature down to 18 degrees Celsius. A cool room promotes a comfortable, restful sleep because sleeping in a room that is between 15 and 20 degrees Celsius helps us produce melatonin – the sleep hormone. Make sure the room isn’t too cold, however, because that’s not good either. If you live somewhere where it’s always warm, then turn a fan on or your air conditioner to make sure the room is at a comfortable temperature.

So there you have my suggestions for getting to sleep easier, and becoming more of a morning person (or at least not dreading it as much as before). Hopefully you liked my tips 🙂

Sincerely,

Lana

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

