Lifestyle · Wellness

9 Ways Minimalism Changed My Life

Hello, my dear readers!

Not all minimalists are the same. Everyone has their own way of understanding and executing this principle – that’s the beauty of it. I’m no expert, I am simply a person who has adopted a simpler lifestyle. So, these are just some of my own experiences with minimalism and how it has positively changed my life. And please don’t be a stranger in the comments section! I’d love to hear how living a simpler lifestyle has affected your life, or if you have any questions about minimalism or my experiences, I’ll be happy to answer them.

Let’s get into it!

  1. Freedom. I have become less focused on things with little meaning to me, and I became free from the idea of “should”. I feel freedom from the fact that I downsize my priorities and spend my time, money, and energy only on the things that are important to me.
  2. Health. My transition to a minimalist lifestyle has been a good catalyst for my conversion to a vegetarian/pescetarian diet. I have started to really watch what I put into my body and onto my skin. It has helped me cut out the trash foods in my diet: cutting the “crap” from my life lead to me cutting the “crap” from my diet. I have also become more aware of the vitamins and supplements which I should be taking. I have a much healthier mind-body-soul connection.
  3. I’m not tricked. I am not tempted by sales in stores, nor am I tempted to buy the latest product just for the idea of it. In short, I am not tricked into marketing schemes that promote consumerism. I don’t shop nearly as much as I used to, and yet, I feel happier than I’ve ever been. Of course, I still treat myself to things, but I buy what truly brings beauty, comfort, or pleasure into my life – not buying for the sake of buying. No more “zombie shopping”.
  4. Planet awareness. Buying less means throwing away less. Eating healthier means eating more fresh produce that helps sustain local community farmers. Eating a pescetarian diet means not buying processed foods and pre-made meals. It has made me aware of living a more sustainable life – eating food that uses fewer resources to grow and sustain. It has helped me learn the magic of recycling, upcycling, & donating.
  5. Gratitude. It’s easy to fall into the trap of envy and comparison, especially in this day and age. Minimalism has helped me find gratitude in the things that truly matter in life – running water, having heat in the winter, food that nourishes my body and mind, laughter with my family and friends. There is no more comparison to people who have a lot of “stuff’ that they flaunt because I am happy with myself and my life. Grateful people are happy people. And happy people don’t envy or compare their lives to others.
  6. Decreased anxiety. I have struggled with anxiety for a long time. But after switching to a simpler lifestyle, my anxiety has almost entirely diminished. I no longer feel overwhelmed with all of my thoughts or stressors in life. Once I started to minimize the clutter in my home and open myself up to gratitude, I felt a sigh of relief.
  7. Time. I’ve grown to prioritize my time a lot better. I have learned that not everything needs my attention. I’ve found more time to focus on the things that really matter to me, and I’ve even discovered some extra time for journaling and exercise.
  8. Money. I’ve noticed a big difference in what I allocate money for, how I spend money, and what I want to use my money for. I am not saying that it’s wrong to treat yourself or someone you love, all I am saying is that it made me more aware of where my money was going and where it truly needs to be going. I rather spend my money on the things that matter to me, than on keeping up with trends or celebrity endorsed products, or things that suddenly catch my eye.
  9. Clarity and direction. My transition to a pescetarian diet and minimalist lifestyle has given me direction in my life. Over the last few years, I’ve felt like I wasn’t living my life based on what made sense to me and what felt right. We don’t need labels, like calling ourselves a minimalist or pescetarian, but these two changes helped my mind-body-soul connection flourish. Minimalism has been the catalyst, as I mentioned, to the dietary changes (as well as many other changes) and I finally feel like I am doing the right thing for myself. Getting rid of all the excess baggage gave me the clarity to see what I truly desire out of life and what matters to me most.

 

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you enjoyed reading a little bit about my personal experiences.

Sincerely,

Lana

Leave a Reply

